“Bibliographic Essay,” in The Unitarians and the universalists by
"This important source on American Unitarianism and Universalism provides excellent commentary on the quality of the listed materials and contains an exhaustive list of further sources."
“Bibliography,” in Historical dictionary of Unitarian Universalism by
"Harris’ “Bibliography” is a comprehensive record of history sources. Although the bibliography is not annotated,it begins with several pages of background information on resources, provides a table of contents, and indexes its items by the following headings: Periodicals and Yearbooks, Published Primary Sources, Biography, Histories (sub-categorized by region, time period, etc.), and Worship." Dwyer
Encyclopedia of religion - “Unitarian Universalist Association,” by John C. Godbey by
"Its lengthy entry on UU provides an explanation of the UUA including background, history, and beliefs of both Unitarianism and Universalism. Formation and views of the UU church and discussion of the UUA’s membership in the International Association for Religious Freedom is also included."
The encyclopedia of women and religion in North America, “Unitarian Universalist Movement, Women,” by Cynthia Grant Tucker. by
"This source is unique in its specifi focus on the role and history of women in the UU faith. It profiles important women like Judith Sargent Stevens Murray and Margaret Fuller in the history and formation of both the Unitarian and Universalist church. It discusses the emergence of female clergy and women’s groups (which eventually consolidated into the Unitarian Universalist Women’s Federation in 1963). The entry contains a lengthy bibliography." Tierney V. Dwyer,
Historical dictionary of Unitarian Universalism by
"Harris's history is both concise and encompassing, and he does a good job of highlighting the evolution of the religion into its present-day form." (Reference Reviews)
Contemporary American religion - “Unitarian Universalist Churches” by
"This entry discusses the merger of the Universalist Church of America (UCA) and American Unitarian Association (AUA) to form the UUA. Entries cover the dominant views of humanism and naturalistic theism in UU, the UU role in the civil rights, gay/lesbian rights, women’s rights movements, and the Vietnam War protests. The entry highlights politics in UU and discusses the demographics of UU members. There is a brief bibliography, and extensive cross-referencing to many entries concerning issues in UU (i.e., “Ordination of Women,”“Humanism,” etc.)." Dwyer,
Redeeming time : endowing your church with the power of covenant by The Unitarians and the universalists by
"Robinson traces the history of these two religions in the United States from colonial times to the twentieth century liberal religious movement. He highlights the demographic and ideological differences and similarities of the two religions." Dwyer
Buehrens, John A., 1947- Title A chosen faith : an introduction to Unitarian Universalism by
"In this new edition of the classic introductory text on Unitarian Universalism, which includes a revealing, entertaining foreword by best-selling author Robert Fulghum (All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten, It Was on Fire When I Lay Down on It), a new preface by UU moderator Denise Davidoff, and two new chapters by the authors, John Buehrens and Forrest Church explore the many sources of the living tradition of their chosen faith."
William Ellery Channing : an essay on the liberal spirit in America by
"As the “founder of American Unitarianism,” Wiilliam Channing is one of the most important figures in the history of UU.Delbanco traces the development of Channing's thinking on the relation of man to God and nature, on the reality of evil, on the autonomy of the individual. He reveals Channing's hope and doubt concerning America's contribution to human progress."
American heretic: Theodore Parker and transcendentalism by
"Skillfully traces Parker's intellectual evolution. . . . A masterful treatment of Parker's life and times. . . . A fresh look at an important figure in American religious history".--Journal of the American Academy of Religion
Emerson : the mind on fire : a biography / by
"Richardson gives careful attention to the enormous range of Emerson's readings—from Persian poets to George Sand—and to his many friendships and personal encounters—from Mary Moody Emerson to the Cherokee chiefs in Boston—evoking both the man and the times in which he lived. Throughout this book, Emerson's unquenchable vitality reaches across the decades, and his hold on us endures"