Reference and Exegesis locations do not circulate and are always available.
For circulating items you can request pick-up if the item is not at your home library. Call Circulation at 510-649-2500 (GTU) or 415-451-2845 (SFTS).
Many of the exegetical volumes have multiple copies, please check the catalog for availability.
| GTU | GTU Library |
| GTU Reference | Reference Collection - in Oculus shelves & by elevator |
| SFTS | SFTS Library stacks |
| SFTS Reference | SFTS Reference Room |
The Text of the New Testament by
"This revision brings the discussion of such important matters as the early Greek manuscripts and methods of textual criticism up to date, integrating recent research findings and approaches into the body of the text (as opposed to previous revisions, which compiled new material and notes into appendices)."
An Introduction to the New Testament Manuscripts and Their Texts by
"Describes the manuscripts and other ancient textual evidence, and the tools needed to study them • Deals with textual criticism and textual editing, describing modern approaches and techniques, with guidance on the use of editions • Introduces the witnesses and textual study of each of the main sections of the New Testament, discussing typical variants and their significance. A companion website with full-colour images provides generous amounts of illustrative material, bringing the subject alive for the reader."
How to Choose a Translation for All Its Worth by
"With so many Bible translations available today, how can you find those that will be most useful to you? What is the difference between a translation that calls itself “literal” and one that is more “meaning-based”? And what difference does it make for you as a reader of God’s Word? How to Choose a Translation for All Its Worth brings clarity and insight to the current debate over translations and translation theories. Written by two seasoned Bible translators, here is an authoritative guide through the maze of translations issues, written in language that everyday Bible readers can understand."
Textual Criticism of the Hebrew Bible by
"Since its initial publication, Textual Criticism of the Hebrew Bible has established itself as the indispensable authoritative textbook and reference on the subject. In this thoroughly revised third edition, Emanuel Tov has incorporated the insights of the last ten years of scholarship, including new perspectives on the biblical texts among the Dead Sea Scrolls, all of which have now been published. Here are expanded discussions of the contribution of textual criticism to biblical exegesis and of the role of scribes in the transmission of the text. The introduction and references throughout the book have been thoroughly revised with the beginning student of textual criticism in mind."
The Text of the Old Testament by
"This classic introduction to textual criticism of the Hebrew Bible is now entirely updated in the light of new critical editions of the texts and recent contributions and findings in the various areas of history of the text-especially the Masoretic text, the Septuagint, the Peshitta, and the Dead Sea Scrolls-and of textual criticism. A new chapter discusses the significance of textual criticism and the history of the text, and a new appendix provides resources for textual research. Includes 439 black-and-white plates of texts and inscriptions."
Introduction to the New Testament by
" it is a useful introduction into the many complex aspects of the political, cultural, and religious developments that characterized the world in which early Christianity arose and by which the New Testament and other early Christian writings were shaped."
The Religion of the Earliest Churches by
"Employing the notion of religion as a "cultural sign language that promises a gain in life by corresponding to an ultimate reality," he plots the emergence of Christianity as a religion, with elements of myth, ritual, ethics, and an emergent symbolic system. He expands upon the historical, social, and theological analysis of his earlier works to cover such issues as the relationship of Jesus to the earliest churches, power, possessions, interpretations of Jesus' death, and the separation of the church and synagogue.
The World of the New Testament by
"This volume addresses the most important issues related to the study of New Testament writings. Two respected senior scholars have brought together a team of distinguished specialists to introduce the Jewish, Hellenistic, and Roman backgrounds necessary for understanding the New Testament and the early church. Contributors include renowned scholars such as Lynn H. Cohick, David A. deSilva, James D. G. Dunn, and Ben Witherington III. The book includes seventy-five photographs, fifteen maps, numerous tables and charts, illustrations, and bibliographies. All students of the New Testament will value this reliable, up-to-date, comprehensive textbook and reference volume on the New Testament world."
A History of Israel by
"Unsurpassed for nearly half a century, and now with a new introduction and appendix by William P. Brown, John Bright's A History of Israel will continue to be a standard for a new generation of students of the Old Testament. This book remains a classic in the literature of theological education."
Ancient Israel by
"Considered the leading book on the subject, this book is an authoritative exploration of the complete history of ancient Israel—from Abraham, the first Hebrew, to the Roman destruction of the Second Temple in 70 A.D. It offers superlative authorship from acknowledged leaders in their specialties, from a wide range of nationalities, faiths, and backgrounds. The book is quite manageable in length and is packed with vivid color and black-and-white photographs, maps, charts, and timelines."
Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception by 
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by
"Biblical studies is a highly technical and diverse field. This authoritative and state-of-the-art survey of original research will therefore be invaluable to scholars and students who need to command linguistic, historical, literary, and philosophical skills. Forty-five original contributions by leading figures in the discipline review and analyze current thinking and work and give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates"
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by
"The Encyclopedia contains nearly 120 entries, ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words. It is organized in an A-to-Z format. Each entry is signed, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia. It also features a topical outline of contents and an extensive index."
Biblical Exegesis by
"This new edition retains the features of the early editions: a minimum of technical terms, solid introductory guidelines in exegetical methods, and a valuable presentation of exegetical theory and practice. It is ideal for general introductory exegesis courses, introductions to the Old and New Testaments, and introduction to preaching, as well as for pastors and lay leaders."
Handbook of Biblical Criticism by
"Integrating the newest methods and theories of biblical studies, this third edition contains over eight hundred terms, phrases, names, explanations of common abbreviations, notes on major methodologies and exegetical basics, biographical sketches of key figures in the history of research, analytical outlines of fundamental critical problems, a list of bibliographic tools, plus an invaluable diagram of biblical interpretation. Everything a student needs for a class in biblical interpretation."
Dictionary of biblical interpretation, 2 vols. by 
The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by
" Based upon the classic work of Wilhelm Gesenius, the "father of modern Hebrew lexicography," BDB gives not only dictionary definitions for each word, but relates each word to its Old Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. BDB's exhaustive coverage of Old Testament Hebrew words, as well as its unparalleled usage of cognate languages and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render BDB and invaluable resource for all students of the Bible."
The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew Volumes 1-4 by 
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by
" The complete and unabridged translation has been prepared by an international team of Hebrew and Old Testament scholars. Combining scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility, the dictionary meets the needs of a wide range of users from the beginning student of biblical Hebrew to the specialized scholar in biblical studies, Semitic studies or ancient Judaism, as well as academic libraries, theological seminaries, and institutions. Volume 1: Aleph - Heth ( 365 pp.) Volume 2: Teth - Ayin ( 539 pp.) Volume 3: Pe - Sin ( 458 pp.) Volume 4: Shin - Taw ( 428 pp.) Volume 5: "
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
"Described as an "invaluable reference work" (Classical Philology) and "a tool indispensable for the study of early Christian literature" (Religious Studies Review) in its previous edition, this new updated American edition of Walter Bauer's Wörterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments builds on its predecessor's staggering deposit of extraordinary erudition relating to Greek literature from all periods. Including entries for many more words, the new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature."
A Greek-English Lexicon by
"Liddell & Scott's Greek-English Lexicon is the most comprehensive and up-to-date ancient Greek dictionary in the world. Used by every student of ancient Greek in the English-speaking world, the dictionary covers every surviving ancient Greek author and text discovered up to 1940, from the Pre-Classical Greek of Homer and Hesiod to Classical Greek to the Hellenistic Period, including the Greek Old and New Testaments. "
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by
"The two-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible is the first in this series of specialized reference works, each addressing a specific subfield within biblical studies. The series, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible, aims to produce high-level scholarly reference works that are accessible and in-depth, going beyond the basics to provide more specialized coverage."
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible by
"The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible has been a classic Bible study resource for more than thirty years. Now thoroughly revised, this new five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Beautiful full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a wellrounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. The goal remains the same: to provide pastors, teachers, students, and devoted Bible readers a comprehensive and reliable library of information. • More than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people • More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference • Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs • 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference • Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by the most current body of archaeological research • 238 contributors from around the world."
Please click the link for location and availability information.
NOTE: The viewpoints listed are not indicative of every entry. Rather viewpoints in a dictionary may vary from author to author.
|
Name |
Description |
Denomination |
|
6 vols. Standard reference, extensive and scholarly. |
Non-denominational |
|
|
3 vols. Scholarly, technical |
Non-denominational |
|
|
New international dictionary of Old Testament theology & exegesis |
5 vols. Scholarly, readable |
Evangelical |
|
Scholarly, readable, |
Non-denominational |
|
|
3 vols. Applicational, scholarly, |
Non-denominational |
|
|
User-friendly reference, scholarly, |
Non-denominational |
|
|
Quick, handy reference. |
Evangelical |
|
|
5 vols. extensive, scholarly. |
Non-denominational |
|
|
15 vols. Extensive, technical. |
Non-denominational |
|
|
10 vols. Extensive, technical |
Non-denominational |
|
|
User-friendly, scholarly, |
Evangelical |
|
|
User-friendly reference, scholarly, |
Evangelical |
|
|
User-friendly reference, scholarly, |
Evangelical |
|
|
User-friendly, informative |
Evangelical |
|
|
Scholarly, ideological, |
Non-denominational |
Please click the link for location and availability information.
NOTE: The viewpoints listed are not indicative of every volume. Rather viewpoints in a series may vary from author to author.
|
Name |
Description |
Denomination |
Perspectives |
|
Extensive, technical, scholarly |
Interdenominational |
Conservative - Liberal |
|
| Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture | theological | Interdenominational | Moderate |
|
For wider audiences and scholarly |
Protestant - United Method |
Moderate-Liberal |
|
|
Readable |
Protestant - Evangelical |
Conservative |
|
|
Theological |
Protestant - Evangelical |
Conservative |
|
|
Scholarly, technical, extensive |
Catholic |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Readable, scholarly |
Catholic |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Theological |
Lutheran |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Scholarly |
Catholic |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Scholarly, technical, in-depth |
Interdenominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Interpretation: a Bible commentary for teaching and preaching |
Scholarly |
Protestant-Presbyterian |
moderate |
|
Technical, advanced |
Interdenominational |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Technical, advanced and scholarly |
Jewish |
Moderate |
|
|
Readable, scholarly, |
Interdenominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Theological |
Protestant - Evangelical |
conservative |
|
|
Theological |
Protestant - Evangelical |
Conservative |
|
|
Technical, scholarly, |
Protestant - Evangelical |
Conservative |
|
|
Scholarly, literary |
Interdenominational-Presbyterian |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Scholarly, technical, advanced |
Catholic |
moderate |
|
|
Scholarly |
Protestant - interdenominational |
Moderate |
|
|
Theological |
Protestant - Evangelical |
Conservative |
|
| Wisdom Commentary | scholarly, user-friendly reference | Interdenominational | Moderate |
|
Scholarly, technical, advanced |
Protestant – interdenominational |
Conservative-moderate |
Please click the link for location and availability information.
|
Call Number |
Name |
Description |
Denomination |
Perspectives |
|
Eerdmans Bible commentary (Ref) – also in stacks |
Scholarly, non-technical |
Protestant - Interdenominational |
moderate |
|
|
Global Bible commentary |
Culturally diverse, readable |
Protestant - Interdenominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
HarperCollins Bible commentary (Ref) – also in stacks |
Interdisciplinary, textually inclusive, scholarly. |
Protestant - Interdenominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Interpreter's one volume commentary (Ref) – Also in stacks |
Scholarly, non-technical, applicational |
Non- denominational |
Moderate |
|
|
International Bible commentary (Ref) – also in stacks |
Concise, non-technical, |
Non-denominational |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Mercer Commentary (Ref) |
Non-technical, scholarly, readable |
Protestant - Baptist |
Moderate |
|
|
New Bible commentary (Ref) |
Readable, applicational |
Evangelical |
conservative |
|
|
New Jerome (Ref) - Also in stacks |
Textual, scholarly |
Catholic |
Conservative-moderate |
|
|
Oxford Bible Commentary (Ref) – also in stacks |
Critical reference, readable |
Non-denominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Postcolonial commentary on the New Testament writings |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Protestant- interdenominational |
Moderate - liberal |
|
|
Queer Bible Commentary |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Non-denominational |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
Torah : a women's commentary |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Jewish |
Moderate-liberal |
|
|
True to our native land : an African American NT commentary (Ref) |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Protestant- interdenominational |
Moderate - liberal |
|
|
Women's Bible commentary |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Non-denominational |
Moderate - liberal |
|
|
Wisdom (Feminist) Commentary |
Readable, ideological, scholarly |
Non-denominational |
Moderate - liberal |
|
Name |
Description |
Denomination |
Perspectives |
|
Non-technical, aimed for wider audience and application |
Lutheran |
Conservative |
|
|
Non-technical, aimed for wider audience and application |
Non-denominational |
Moderate |
|
|
Non-technical, focused on the church’s interpretive tradition |
Catholic |
Conservative-Moderate |
