The Qur'ān / translated, with a critical re-arrangement of the Surahs by 
The Qurʼan: a new translation by
"Revised for the new edition, this translation is written in contemporary language that remains true to the meaning and spirit of the original, making the text crystal clear while retaining all of this great work's eloquence. It is now set page-for-page against the most widespread traditional calligraphic Arabic text, for the benefit of Muslims who wish to make the connection between the translation and the Arabic text, as well as Arabic readers and non-Arabs learning to read the Qur'an in Arabic."
The Qurʼān by
" Alan Jones's approach underlines the need for a sympathetic response to the oral and aural structures of the Arabic of the Qur'an. An introductory note to each sura provides some background material on the contents of the sura and its dating, and the notes are kept to a minimum. The translation is preceded by a brief Introduction describing the religion and culture of the Arabian peninsula, and the land and its peoples, in the years before Muhammad's birth."
Islam: Faith and History by
Combining the personal with the scholarly, this innovative introduction gives the reader an insight into Islam and its rich history.
A New Introduction to Islam by
The second edition of this student-friendly textbook explores the origins, major features and lasting influence of the Islamic tradition.* Traces the development of Muslim beliefs and practices against the background of social and cultural contexts extending from North Africa to South and Southeast Asia * Fully revised for the second edition, with completely new opening and closing chapters considering key issues facing Islam in the 21st century * Focuses greater attention on everyday practices, the role of women in Muslim societies, and offers additional material on Islam in America * Includes detailed chronologies, tables summarizing key information, useful maps and diagrams, and many more illustrations
Understanding Islam and Muslim traditions by 
Islam: The Straight Path by
It provides keen insight into one of the world's least understood religions and is ideally suited for use in courses on Islam, comparative religions, and Middle Eastern history and culture.
Introduction to Islam. by
An Introduction to Islam places Islam within a cultural, political, social, and religious context, and examines its connections with Judeo-Christian morals. Its integration of the doctrinal and devotional elements of Islam enables readers to see how Muslims think and live, engendering understanding and breaking down stereotypes. This text also reviews pre-Islamic history, so readers can see how Islam developed historically.
Classical Islam : a sourcebook of religious literature by
This definitive sourcebook presents more than sixty authoritative new translations of key Islamic texts. Edited and translated by three leading specialists, Classical Islam features eight thematically-linked sections covering the Qur'ān and its interpretation, the life of Muhammad, hadīth, law, theology, mysticism and Islamic history. The new edition has been expanded to cover a fuller range of material illustrating the growth of Islamic thought from its seventh-century origins through to the end of the medieval period. It includes illustrations, a glossary, extensive bibliography and explanatory prefaces for each text. Classical Islam is an essential resource for the study of early and medieval Islam and its legacy.
Cambridge History of Islam. by
First published in 1970, The Cambridge History of Islam is the most comprehensive and ambitious collaborative survey of Islamic history and civilization yet to appear in English. On publication it was welcomed as a work useful for both reference and reading, for the general reader, student and specialist alike. It has now been reprinted, with corrections, and for ease of handling the original two hardcover volumes have each been divided into two separate paperbacks.
Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World. by
Throughout, emphasis is placed on the interaction between Islam and the West, from the first Latin translations of the Quran to the fatwa on Salman Rushdie. This elegant book deliberately sets out to dismantle the Western impression of Islam as a monolithic world and replace it with a balanced view, from current issues of fundamentalism to its dynamic culture and art.
Muslim Almanac by
This collection of articles covers Islam from its beginnings in the seventh century to the present in all parts of the world. The topically arranged signed articles range from 5 to 15 pages and were written by scholars from the U.S. and Islamic countries. Each article concludes with a bibliography, and the volume is illustrated with rather dark black-and-white photographs. A chronology of Islam and a gazetteer of nations giving the size of each's Muslim population precede the articles. A lengthy bibliography at the end of the volume is followed by a detailed index.
Historical Atlas of Islam by
Lucid and inviting full-color maps chronicle the changing internal and external boundaries of the Islamic world, showing the principal trade routes through which goods, ideas, and customs spread. Ruthven traces the impact of various Islamic dynasties in art and architecture and shows the distribution of sects and religious minorities, the structure of Islamic cities, and the distribution of resources.
The First Islamic Reviver by 
The Story of the Qur'an by 
Thomas Jefferson's Qur'an by 
The Encyclopaedia of Islam by
"The Encyclopaedia of Islam - New Edition" presents the current state of our knowledge of the Islamic world, covering not only the religion, but also the believers and the countries they live in. It features articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic states of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, Central Asia, the Ottoman empire and numerous other Islamic states."
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Islamic world by
"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World offers extensive comparative and systematic analyses of Islamic beliefs, institutions, movements, practices, and peoples on an international scale. The articles range from brief 500-word essays to major interpretive and synthetic treatment of topics such as the Islamic state, pilgrimage, law, marriage, and foreign relations. "
Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion. by
"The Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion covers the full range of Islamic thought, in historical depth, but it also provides substantial coverage of contemporary trends across the Muslim world. With well over a thousand entries on Islamic theology, history, arts, science, law and institutions, and coverage of Islam in individual countries and cities around the world, the Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilization and Religion provides an extremely rich resource for students and researchers in religious studies and Middle Eastern studies."
The biographical encyclopedia of Islamic philosophy by
" Included are details about the lives of significant legal thinkers, theologians, political thinkers and even geographers where their lives are relevant indicators of the progress of philosophy in the Islamic world. The Dictionary represents a landmark achievement in the understanding of Islamic philosophy, at a time when such understanding is needed as never before."
The Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture by
" Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. In addition, over 500 illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy illuminate the rich artistic tradition of the Islamic world. With the fundamental understanding that Islamic art is not limited to a particular region, or to a defined period of time, The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture offers pathways into Islamic
culture through its art."
Oxford Dictionary of Islam. by
"Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this superb Oxford Dictionary provides more than 2,000 vividly written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format.
The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners.."
Historical Dictionary of Islam. by
"The volumes in this Scarecrow series have varied in quality, but this dictionary fares well. Its clear, concise entries give basic facts, organized under headings in English, when available, rather than in Arabic. The book includes a chronology, an accessible historical introduction, and a considerable bibliography arranged by broad categories."
Islamic Desk Reference. by
"This one-volume work contains a summary of the subject-matter of "The Encyclopaedia of Islam". It should serve as a quick reference tool for those interested in the religion, the believers and the countries of the Islamic world. All entries are given in English."
A Concordance of the Qur’an. by
"This Concordance of the Qur'an in English satisfies a paramount need of those—and there are millions of them—who have no command of the Arabic language and yet desire to understand the Qur'an."
Encyclopaedia of the Qur’an by
"Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'ān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'ān. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur'ān to appear in a Western language."
Cambridge Companion to the Qur’an by
"Comprising fourteen chapters, each devoted to a topic of central importance, the book is rich in historical, linguistic and literary detail, while also reflecting the influence of other disciplines. For both the university student and the general reader,"
The Qur’an: An Encyclopedia by
"Authored by forty-three international experts, the objective of The Qur'an: An Encyclopedia is to present this diversity of thought, approach and school without priority, in order to give a strong appreciation of the range of response that the text has provoked throughout its history and providing students and researchers with a powerful one-volume resource covering all aspects of the text and its reception."
Common Prayer: A Muslim-Christian Spiritual Anthology. by
Compiled by a pioneer in interfaith dialogue, this is an unprecedented anthology of Christian and Muslim devotional writings. Bringing together prayers written in some twenty original languages and from thirty different countries, Bishop Cragg's inspirational anthology underlines the spiritual compatibility of the Muslim and Christian faiths
Muslim Devotions: A Study of Prayer-Manuals in Common Use. by
Drawing on a wide range of sources, Muslim Devotions traces the stages in the evolution of Islamic theological thought from the first century of Islam to the present day.
Alive to God: Muslim and Christian Prayer. by 
Invocations and Supplications by 
The literature of Islam by
"This book introduces the literature of Islam as it is presented in English translation. For scholars in other fields who need to understand the vast and complex literary heritage of this erudite and vigorous faith community (but are unable to devote years of their lives to achieving a reading proficiency in classical Arabic), for faculty members called upon to teach introductory or survey courses outside their own disciplines, and for graduate students in theology, medieval studies, world religions, or related fields who need access to these primary sources in English translation,"
World survey of Islamic manuscripts by 
