A handbook of theological terms by
"Harvey's little blue paperback is truly the seminarian's friend and I always keep a copy in sight whem I'm preparing a sermon or otherwise committing "God talk" to paper. An especially nice feature of the Handbook is that it points out distinctions between Roman Catholic and Protestant terminologies, important in these ecumenical times when we often dialog together and take courses at each other's colleges and seminaries. "
The Westminster dictionary of theological terms by
"This second edition of the Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms provides a comprehensive guide to nearly 7,000 theological terms, 1,000 more terms than the first edition. McKim's succinct definitions cover a broad range of theological studies and related disciplines."
The New dictionary of theology by
"This 1,120 page book, double columns, includes the expert knowledge of 165 pastorally concerned contributors who are the elite of the theological and biblical worlds. An invaluable reference work."
New dictionary of theology by
"Firmly anchored in the evangelical tradition, the NDOT is nevertheless wide-ranging in its scope. Over 200 contributors, experts in their individual fields, offer both Western and international perspective."
New and enlarged handbook of Christian theology by
"The New & Enlarged Handbook of Christian Theology brings the information up to date and provides more than 30 additional articles. The list of contributors to this new edition broadens the inclusiveness of the denominational and ethnic representation of the author pool. This handbook provides thorough introductory articles on important themes in Christianity today. With cross references and select bibliographies, it is an indispensable reference source for students and professors."
A concise dictionary of theology by
"Identifies and clarifies a thousand central terms, providing necessary information about their origin, the history of their usage, and their place in the story of Christianity."
The Oxford companion to Christian thought by
"Embracing the viewpoints of Catholic, Protestant, or Orthodox thinkers, of conservatives, liberals, radicals, and agnostics, Christianity today is anything but monolithic or univocal. In The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought, general editor Adrian Hastings has tried to capture a sense of the great diversity of opinion that swirls about under the heading of Christian thought. Indeed, the 260 contributors, who hail from twenty countries, represent as wide a range of perspectives as possible."
The Westminster dictionary of Christian theology / edited by 
Handbook of Catholic theology by
"Biblically and historically based, ecumenically oriented, up to date, and easy to use, the book's eleven major categories contain more than 300 alphabetical, cross-referenced entries, each one to four pages in length. Index. Illustrations."
The Christian theology reader by
"This bestselling volume is now available in a fully updated and expanded fourth edition, bringing together 378 readings, drawn from over 230 sources, and charting 2,000 years of Christian history.
Each reading is accompanied by its own introduction, commentary and study questions, and illustrates a key doctrine, point of view, intellectual development, or theological landmark."
Dictionary of feminist theologies by
"With scholarly depth and breadth, with entries from noted experts in their disciplines, the book can not help but appeal to a broad audience of laypeople, clergy and religious professionals. Introductory articles provide essential overviews of key fields. Each entry gives the traditional meaning of a term before expanding upon its meaning from a feminist perspective. Study questions, thorough cross-referencing and a bibliography will help readers steer themselves through the riches offered in a volume not only destined to be the standard scholarly reference work in its area but also likely to become a touchstone text for students of religion, women's' studies and American culture."
Dictionary of Orthodox theology : a summary of the beliefs, practices and history of the Eastern Orthodox Church by 
Consecrated phrases : a Latin theological dictionary : Latin expressions commonly found in theological writings by
"The third edition contains many entries from canon and civil law, as well as terms from philosophy and theology. While Latin has often been called a dead language," Consecrated Phrases demonstrates convincingly that the tradition continues not just to live but to thrive. This book will aid generations of students yet to come in understanding, appropriating, and developing the best of that tradition."
The Oxford handbook of evangelical theology by
"This volume surveys the state of the discipline on topics of greatest importance to evangelical theology. Each chapter has been written by a theologian or scholar who is widely recognized for his or her published work and is considered a leading thinker on that particular topic. The authors critically assess the state of the question, from both classical and evangelical traditions, and propose a future direction for evangelical thinking on the subject."
The Oxford handbook of systematic theology by
"The Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology brings together a set of original and authoritative accounts of all the major areas of current research in Christian systematic theology, offering a thorough survey of the state of the discipline and of its prospects for those undertaking research and teaching in the field. The Handbook engages in a comprehensive examination of themes and approaches, guiding the reader through current debates and literatures in the context of the historical development of systematic theological reflection."
The Blackwell companion to postmodern theology by
"This Companion provides a definitive collection of essays on postmodern theology, drawing on the work of those individuals who have made a distinctive contribution to the field,.....(It) discusses the following desciplines: Aesthetics, Ethics, Gender, Hermeneutics, Phenomenology, Heideggerians, and Derrideans."
The dictionary of historical theology by
" it treats the people and the movements responsible for the birth and development of such themes in the history of the Christian church. Each of 314 entries by 173 writers is an essay, written by a topical expert and followed by an up-to-date bibliography on the subject."
The Blackwell encyclopedia of modern Christian thought / by
"Arranged in standard encyclopedia form, the volume has a detailed index and a helpful glossary of theological terms following the text. Librarians will appreciate the numerous cross-references. All entries include a bibliography with excellent sources for follow-up reading. Lengthier ones follow major commissioned essays signed by their respective authors, the affiliations of whom are given at the beginning of the volume."
Sacramentum mundi; an encyclopedia of theology (6 vols.) by 
The new Schaff-Herzog encyclopedia of religious knowledge by 
New Catholic encyclopedia by
"This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church."
Encyclopedia of Christian theology by
"The Encyclopedia of Christian Theology, translated from the French Dictionnaire Critique de Théologie 2nd Edition, features over 530 entries, contributed by 250 scholars from fifthteen different countries. Alphabetically arranged entries provide the reader a critical overview of the main theological questions and related topics, including concepts, events, councils, theologians, philosophers, movements, and more."
Christian theology : an introduction (5th Edition) by
"This 5th edition has been completely revised, and now features new and extended material, numerous additional illustrations, and companion resources, ensuring it retains its reputation as the ideal introduction to Christian theology."
Systematic Theology (Vol. I, II, III) - by
"Since its first publication, Ethics has been followed by Doctrine (1994) and Witness (2000). The completion of the overall work has brought into sharper focus many of the theological and ethical issues and concerns central to the baptist tradition."
Faith seeking understanding : an introduction to Christian theology by
"This third edition offers new FOR FURTHER READING suggestions at the end of each chapter, a substantial expansion of the glossary, and new material incorporated throughout, including a section on Christians and Muslims."
The Christian story : a narrative interpretation of basic Christian doctrine by
"In addition to covering the standard teachings of Christianity-the doctrines of God, creation, the fall, covenant, Christ, salvation, church and consummation-Volume 1 presents Fackre's introduction to systematic theology. This revised third edition develops in more detail the doctrine of the Trinity, takes up the issues of religious pluralism and Jewish-Christian dialogue, and offers a perspective on angelology. New appendices discuss inclusive language and describe the surge of writing in the field of systematic theology."
God--the world's future : systematic theology for a new era by
"Since its original publication, God-The World's Future, has been widely and successfully as a comprehensive textbook in systematic theology explicitly crafted in light of the postmodern context. It explains the whole body of Christian historical doctrine from within a "proleptic" framework, "whereby the gospel is understood as announcing the pre-actualization of the future consummation of all things in Jesus Christ." This concept is skillfully deployed not only to organize the various theological areas or loci but also to rethink doctrines in light of key postmodern challenges from ecumenism, critical historical thinking, contemporary science, and gender relations. In this edition, Peters has updated each chapter, made substantive changes in the book's treatment of God and Christ's "offices," and elaborated his theology in light of developments in feminist and deconstructive theologies."
Systematic theology : Roman Catholic perspectives by
"Unique among contemporary resources, the landmark Systematic Theology and its distinguished contributors present the major areas or loci of Roman Catholic theology in light of contemporary developments, especially the sea-change since Vatican II thought, the best new historical studies of traditional doctrines and Scripture, and the diverse creative impulses that come from recent philosophy and hermeneutics, culture and praxis, and ecumenical contacts. This new volume combines and updates both previous volumes, incorporates into the framework nearly twenty years of fresh thought and bibliography in each area, and adds revisions to key articles to take account of a diverse, fluid, and postmodern situation.
Introduction to theology by
"This classic introduction to theology from an Anglican perspective has been completely revised and updated for this third edition. Organized around the topics of systematic theology, Introduction to Theology begins with an exploration of Scripture, then moves through history and tradition to contemporary debates and reconstructions. As a textbook for introductory courses in seminaries of the Episcopal Church, this book also includes references to The Book of Common Prayer, which Anglicans consider a primary source for theology."
Systematic theology : perspectives from liberation theology : readings from Mysterium liberationis by
"Drawn from the landmark reference work Mysterium Liberationis, this book highlights the core themes of systematic theology from the perspective of liberation theology. Designed for course use, Systematic Theology draws on writings of the most distinguished theologians of Latin America, reflecting on the contents of the gospel from the context of the oppressed poor. All essential aspects of traditional theology are addressed from this primary perspective. For those searching for an integrated, liberative approach to systematic theology or wishing to add that dimension to their courses Systematic Theology, Perspectives from Liberation Theology distills the insights and scholarship from the original architects of this new and challenging way of doing theology in a single, focused volume."
We have been believers : an African American systematic theology by
"Seeking to overcome the chasm between church practice and theological reflection, James H. Evans Jr., a major and distinctive voice in American religion, situates theology squarely in the nexus of faith with freedom. There, with a sure touch, he uplifts revelatory aspects of black religious experience that reanimate classical areas of theology, and he creates a theology with a heart, soul, and voice that speak directly to our condition. Edited and introduced by Stephen G. Ray Jr., the second edition, published on the twentieth anniversary of the first, includes three new essays that identify the value of the book for womanist, evangelical, and black church audiences. The new edition concludes with an Afterword by the author himself."
A theology of liberation : history, politics, and salvation by
"This is the credo and seminal text of the movement which was later characterized as liberation theology. The book burst upon the scene in the early seventies, and was swiftly acknowledged as a pioneering and prophetic approach to theology which famously made an option for the poor, placing the exploited, the alienated, and the economically wretched at the centre of a programme where "the oppressed and maimed and blind and lame" were prioritized at the expense of those who either maintained the status quo or who abused the structures of power for their own ends. This powerful, compassionate and radical book attracted criticism for daring to mix politics and religion in so explicit a manner, but was also welcomed by those who had the capacity to see that its agenda was nothing more nor less than to give "good news to the poor", and redeem God's people from bondage."
God, Christ, Church : a practical guide to process theology by 
A history of Christian thought (3 vols) by
"This acclaimed, three-volume series has been completely revised to provide a readable, definitive, and completely updated treatment of the evolution of Christian thought from the early church to the great flowering of Christianity in the Middle ages, through the Reformation and the Enlightenment, to the Twentieth century."
A history of Christian theology : an introduction (2nd Edition) by
"A History of Christian Theology offers a concise yet complete chronicle of the whole of Christian theology, from its background in the history of Israel to the liberation and postliberal theologies of recent years. This updated 30th anniversary edition includes expanded treatments of theological developments at the end of the 20th century, and preliminary trajectories for theology in the 21st century. It also includes updated bibliographies and revised chapters on important innovations in biblical studies, and their impact on theology. This updated and revised edition will continue to aid the work of both students and faculty for years to come."
Early Christian doctrines (Revised Edition) by
"This revised edition of the standard history of the first great period in Christian thought has been thoroughly updated in the light of the latest historical findings. Dr. Kelly organizes an ocean of material by outlining the development of each doctrine in its historical context. He lucidly summarizes the genesis of Chrisitian thought from the close of the apostolic age to the Council of Chalcedon in the fifth century--a time teeming with fresh and competing ideas. The doctrines of the Trinity, the authority of the Bible and tradition, the nature of Christ, salvation, original sin and grace, and the sacraments are all extensively treated in these pages."
The Christian Tradition (5 Vols.) by
"The Emergence of the Catholic Tradition is the history of this critical, troubled time. Pelikan focuses upon the subtle relation between what the faithful believed, what teachers--both orthodox and heretical--taught, and what the church confessed as dogma during its first six centuries of growth. In constructing his work, Pelikan has made use of exegetical and liturgical sources in addition to the usual polemical, apologetic, and systematic or speculative materials."
20th Century theology : God & the world in a transitional age by
"Stanley Grenz and Roger Olson offer in this text a sympathetic introduction to twentieth-century theology and a critical survey of its significant thinkers and movements. Of particular interest is their attempt to show how twentieth-century theology has moved back and forth between two basic concepts: God's immanence and God's transcendence. Their survey profiles such towering figures in contemporary theology as Karl Barth, Rudolf Bultmann, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Reinhold Niebuhr, Paul Tillich, Jurgen Moltmann and Wolfhart Pannenberg. It critiques significant movements like neo-orthodoxy, process theology, liberation theology and theology of hope. And it assesses recent developments in feminist theology, black theology, new Catholic theology, narrative theology and evangelical theology."
Modern Christian thought ( 2 vols.) by
"Modern Christian Thought provides the reader with ample, lucid, and scholarly summaries of the ideas of the leading theologians and religious thinkers in the Christian tradition of the past 300 years. Gives the reader scholarly, up-to-date expositions and criticisms of the major thinkers in the Christian tradition since the eighteenth century and their importance for religious thought. Provides readers with background information on movements such as the Enlightenment, Romanticism, Idealism, Darwinism, Existentialism, and Liberation Theology. Covers thinkers such as David Hume, Immanuel Kant, J.J. Rousseau, Kierkegaard, Nietzsche, J.G. Hamann, J.G. Herder, Louis Bautain, Maurice Blondel, Wilhelm Herrman, and many others. Appropriate for readers interested in Modern and Contemporary Christian Thought and Theology as well as Twentieth-Century Religious Thought."
Fortress introduction to contemporary theologies by
"A reader-friendly, basic introduction that maps the central ideas of the major theologians of the twentieth century, easily accessible to both the theological student and the inquiring lay."
The orthodox way by
"This book is a general account of the doctrine, worship and life of Orthodox Christians by the author of the now classic The Orthodox Church. It raises the basic issues of theology: God is hidden yet revealed; the problem with evil; the nature of salvation; the meaning of faith; prayer; death and what lies beyond. In so doing, it helps to fill the need for modern Orthodox catechism. Yet this book is not a mere manual, a dry-as-dust repository of information."
Catholicism by
"This thorough revision of McBrien's best-selling summary of Roman Catholic theology, history, and moral values is an important statement of what it means to be a Catholic Christian. McBrien, a priest and professor of theology at Notre Dame, provides a marvelous synthesis of contemporary interpretations in a compendium designed for the general reader. Throughout, McBrien is faithful to tradition and to contemporary scholarship; he does not hesitate to raise probing questions and to suggest needed changes in teaching and practices. Human existence, God, Jesus Christ, the Church, the sacraments, Christian morality, and Christian spirituality all receive intensive treatment; Orthodox and Protestant views receive respectful consideration." Library Journal
Black theology: a critical assessment and annotated bibliography by
"Evans has annotated more than 460 books and articles on black theology, a 20-year-old discipline. In a fine introduction, Evans shows that black theology's roots go back further than the black power movement to radical slave religion and the founding of independent black churches. The introduction includes references to citations in the bibliography, and there are plentiful cross-references. The first section treats origin and development. Part 2 addresses challenges by black feminists and Marxists. Part 3 treats liberation theologies in Latin America, South Africa, and the Caribbean, which also focus on liberation as the content of the Gospels. This is an important contribution to black religious studies because it focuses on the literature and thought of this brief period, which although brief is vital, and which has national and global reverberations"-Choice
Liberation theologies : a research guide by Women and religion : a bibliographic guide to Christian feminist liberation theology by 
The medieval theologians by
"This comprehensive introduction to medieval theology introduces students to the period through examination of the major individual theologians of the time. Chronologically arranged, it allows students to explore the crucial period between the Church Fathers and the Reformation when theology first emerged as an academic discipline and when important controversies took place. These issues clarified the nature and purpose of the church and the sacraments, and reopened many of the earlier debates about orthodoxy. This was the period which sowed the seeds of the divisions in the church which have persisted until today.Introduced with an editorial essay from G.R. Evans, this volume will appeal to theologians and historians. Each theologian is presented by a world renowned scholar who also demonstrates the relevance of medieval theological debate to the modern period."
Reformation theologians : an introduction to theology in the early modern period by
"The Reformation Theologians introduces the theological context, thought, and contributions of selected theologians of the sixteenth-century Reformations to students and scholars of the theology and history of Christianity. The selection intends to provide as inclusive a range of theologians as possible within the limits of a single text of reasonable length."
The modern theologians : an introduction to Christian theology since 1918 by
"The "Modern Theologians" provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of the main Christian theologies of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Each chapter is written by a leading theologian and gives a clear picture of a particular movement, topic or individual. Together these provide an unparalleled picture of the development of modern theology. The third edition includes: new and updated treatments of topics covered in earlier editions; a new section on six classic theologians of the twentieth century; expanded treatment of the natural sciences, gender, Roman Catholic theology since Vatican II, and African, Asian and Evangelical theologies; revised and updated introduction and epilogue by David F. Ford; new chapters on spirituality, pastoral theology, philosophical theology, postcolonial biblical interpretation, Pentecostal theology, Islam and Christian theology, Buddhism and Christian theology, and theology and film. As in previous editions, the text opens with a full introduction to modern theology. The Epilogue discusses the present situation and prospects of Christian theology in the twenty-first century."
The Blackwell companion to the theologians by
"A substantial two-volume reference work, bringing together over 75 entries on the most important and influential theologians in the history of Christianity"
A new handbook of Christian theologians by
".....This book examines the theologies of representative theologians. Particularly to help students navigate the sea of information, the editors have identified various routes for reading, and have traced several threads or issues common to many of the essays, thus demarcating such recurrent concerns as the ways in which the theologians consider the sources and goals for theology, their variant assumptions and conclusions about the nature of God, their divergent approaches to understanding the person and purpose of the Christ, and their distinct expectations for the destiny of history and faith."
