Typically, visitors have access to thousands of journals on theology, both online and in print while in the GTU library. As soon as your library card application and the associated fee are process, you may request PDFs of book chapters or articles via our scanning service.
Most of these resources can be accessed from the e-resources page, which is linked from the library homepage. You can also find them by searching Summon.
Some of the databases listed on the Electronic Resources page are open access, which means that they are freely available without a subscription or a GTU library card. Others you may not be able to access due to the Library's contract with the database provider.
The database list is organized alphabetically, but for most theology/religious topics we suggest starting with the ATLA Religion database. ATLA stands for American Theological Library Association, but covers international journals as well. You can also find helpful resource tips in the library's other research guides.
Remember: this database contains both abstracts and full text, so be sure to check the 360 Link in case we have the full text in another database. If you don't know about the 360 Link, the tutorial will show you.
Visitors! You will be able to use our databases while in our library- we have a number of computers available for public use on the upper level of the library. Remote access is only available for GTU students, faculty and staff.
Looking for articles on a specific scripture? Try the scripture index in the ATLA Religion Database.
If you haven't used ATLA, it's located on our electronic resources page, it's the first database listed in the Theology & Philosophy section.
Click on Scriptures (above the search boxes)
Then browse to the chapter and verse you want using the [Expand] link.
Note: The ATLA database allows access for GTU Alums. Please see services for visitors and alumni for more details.
