Special Collections and Archives support the curriculum and preserve the records of the Graduate Theological Union. The collections are dedicated to diverse religious dialogue, the Christian and wider religious intellectual heritage, the American religious experience in the West, and the ministries and missions of the Member Schools and Institutes of the GTU.
Rare Books may only be accessed by appointment. Please request them at the Circulation Desk. Please allow at least a half hour for the materials to be pulled.
Archives may be accessed by appointment only. If you plan on visiting, please submit a request at least two days in advance to GTU Archives. Please indicate the collection and which boxes/folders you would like to view. Due to staffing limitations, we are unable to fulfill your request on the same day without prior notification. For additional contact and visiting information regarding the collections, go to Special Collections.
To access our digital content sites, go to this landing page and follow the various links to the different sites.
Use of the Archives
Collections in the GTU Archives are open to researchers whether faculty, student, or interested individual unless restrictions are placed by the donor or the GTU Administration to protect privacy or confidentiality.
We do request that you provide us with at least two days' advance notice (preferably longer) of your visit by emailing GTU Archives in order for us to meet your research needs. Without advance notice, we are unable to fulfill your request for materials on the same day and you would have to return on another day. Please indicate the collection and which boxes/folders you would like to view.
Finding aids to the collections are listed on Online Archive of California (OAC). Printed copies of the finding aids are available at the reference desk. Most can also be accessed through the catalog record in Grace. You can use the following form to search our finding aids on OAC.
Search the Online Archive of California:
To explore our online exhibits and digital materials, start by visiting our Digital Content page.
Collections in the SFTS Archives and Rare collections are open to researchers whether faculty, student, or interested individual unless restrictions are placed by the donor or the SFTS Administration to protect privacy or confidentiality.
Most items are discoverable in GRACE. You may perform an advanced keyword search and limit to a location of SFTS Archives or SFTS Rare to locate desired resources.
Contact Christopher Ocker at SFTS for more information on these collections: christopher_ocker@redlands.edu.