2400 Ridge Road
Berkeley, CA 94709
New Catholic encyclopedia by an editorial staff at the Catholic University of America in association with Thomson-Gale"The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church."
The papacy : an encyclopedia by Philippe Levillain and John W. O'Malley"This comprehensive three-volume reference not only covers all of the popes (and anti-popes) from St. Peter to John Paul II, but also explores the papacy as an institution. Articles cover the inner workings--both contemporary and historical--of the Holy See, and encompass religious orders, papal encyclicals, historical events, papal controversies, the arts, and more. This set is destined to be the standard English-language reference for all issues concerning the papacy. Also inlcludes five maps."
Call Number: BX955.2 .D53 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The great popes through history : an encyclopedia by Frank J. Coppa."Unlike multivolume references that cover all of the popes, this source focuses exclusively on popes who played crucial roles not only in the institution of the papacy itself, but also in European and world events. Beginning with Peter and ending with John Paul II, the contributors to this volume offer a wealth of information. They provide insight into the institution of the papacy and its outstanding members. Combining fact, explanation, and analysis, the essays provide readers with a detailed understanding of the ways in which the papacy, and these individuals, have influenced world events."
Call Number: BX955.3 .G74 2002
Publication Date: 2002
The HarperCollins encyclopedia of Catholicism by Richard P. McBrien"Treating Catholicism as a unique tradition, community, and way of life, the encyclopedia defines and describes topics such as Eastern Catholicism, canon law, devotions, religious orders and lay organizations, and saints, angels, and archangels. Also included are tables of the liturgical calendar, ecumenical councils, and a list of all the popes, complete with a brief biography of each."
World-wide directory of the Catholic Church. Table of Contents is on the inside of the cover. “Arcidiocesi e Diocesi” section gives contact info of dioceses and archdioceses. “Istituti Religiosi” section lists headquarters of religious orders.
Latest volume at the Reference Desk. On Level 1, under various titles, volumes start with the year 1886. Arranged by diocese, this directory covers all types of Catholic institutions in the US.
Church and Papal Documents
Decrees of the ecumenical councils by Norman P. Tanner"The 2,528 total pages of these two volumes include all the authenticated texts and their English renderings as well as a preface and introduction by the oringinal languages editor, a foreword by the English language editor, a bibliography for each decree, various commentaries and explanatory notes, and ten comprehensive indices."
The Papal Encyclicals, 1740-1981 by Claudia Carlen (Editor)This five-volume set includes 280 encyclicals, beginning with Benedict XIV (1740-1758), up to and including Laborem Exercens, which was released by Pope John Paul II on September 14, 1981. One hundred and ten encyclicals, containing 275,000 words, were translated into English especially for this edition.
Collection of Professor Emeritus O’Hanlon, who was the interpreter/guide for the Protestant and Orthodox English speaking observers.
An introduction to canon law by James A. Coriden" it provides outlines and overviews of relatively complex areas of canon law, sketches the basic structure and design of the various offices and functions within the church and how they relate to each other, and gives an orientation to the more important areas of canon law, as well as a background and context within which more detailed rules can be understood."
The Oxford dictionary of saints by David Hugh Farmer"The Oxford Dictionary of Saints gives concise accounts of nearly 1100 saints who lived, died, or have been venerated in Great Britain and Ireland, as well as others of notable historical importance from around the world. The entries range from the famous to the obscure, from the great saints of early Christendom to often forgotten local saints. The new edition includes entries on martyrs from the early Christian centuries, additional entries on Greek and Russian saints, and recently canonized modern saints."