The sources of Catholic dogma by Heinrich Denzinger"The collection includes all articles and creeds of the Catholic Faith beginning with that of the twelve apostles, all dogmatic definitions stamped with the Petrine authority of the apostolic See (ex cathedra), decrees of the solemn magisterium, papal bulls, encyclicals and letters, as well as some of the more weighty decisions of the Holy Office prior to 1957. Although not every entry in this 653 page compendium of Church teaching is definitional (i.e. ex cathedra) it still should be considered the "locutus est" for every wayfaring Catholic whose patria, this side of heaven, is Roma. In addition to a general index there is a scriptural index plus an invaluable systematic or topical index making for very easy reference. Note, too, this edition comes with a one page Corrigenda which is a list of sixteen corrections that must be applied to errors (usually omissions) that escaped the eyes of editors in previous editions."
Call Number: BX1749 .D413 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Creeds & confessions of faith in the Christian tradition (4 vols.) by Jaroslav Pelikan and Valerie Hotchkiss"This four-volume set seeks to assemble the principal creeds and confessions of the Christian Church, from biblical times to the present and from all over the globe, and place them in their historical and theological context. An introductory volume, Credo, by church historian Jaroslav Pelikan, surveys the history of these creeds, delves into the meaning and purpose of creeds, and probes the issues and controversies that spawn new creeds, as well as the origins of new religious movements within Christianity."
The Oxford dictionary of Byzantium (3 vols.) by Alexander P. Kazhdan"Major entries treat such topics as agriculture, art, literature, and politics, while shorter entries examine topics that relate to Byzantium such as the history of Kiev and personalities of ancient and biblical history. Each article is followed by a bibliography, and numerous maps, tables, architectural designs, and genealogies reinforce and clarify the text."
Encyclopedia of the American religious experience: studies of traditions and movements (3 vols) by Charles H. Lippy and Peter W. Williams"Aimed at the general, educated public, this comprehensive look at the religious aspects of American history is arranged in nine sections containing over 100 essay-length articles by acknowledged scholars. The average article is 12 pages long and includes an excellent bibliography and cross-references. Subject matter is broad in scope, covering backgrounds, history, and statistics of major denominations and important religious movements; both Christian and non- Christian religions are included. Subjects covered include the influence of religion on literature, art, architecture, and socio-political issues, with an entire section devoted to the dissemination of American religion. An important reference work recommended for most libraries." C. Robert Nixon
Call Number: Ref. BL2525 .E53 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Contemporary American religion (2 vols.) by Wade Clark Roof"Exploring the diversity of American religions, this work examines the vast range of faiths, practices, figures and doctrines. From abortion and school prayer to capital punishment and astrology, these volumes cover culture, politics, legal issues and social movements."
Call Number: Ref. BL2525 .C65 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Encyclopedia of monasticism by William M. Johnston"Stands alone in offering broad and deep coverage of Buddhist and Christian monastic places, concerns and controversies, ideas, spirituality, social dynamics, and practices. A superb resource for historical, cross-cultural, sociological, and phenomenological studies."
-"Choice, March 2001
Call Number: Ref. BL631 .J85 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The encyclopedia of Christian civilization (4 vols.) by George Thomas Kurian"The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is a comprehensive reference work on the history and impact of Christianity. Over 1,400 entries provide an in-depth and dynamic look at Christianity both through its history and the way it has shaped societies around the world. Through a clear and attractive format, a series of interlocking major themes is explored, including: key theological ideas; global and regional history; worship; society and Christianity; literature; music; art; architecture; education; politics; law, and scholarship. Uniting these themes is an understanding of Christianity as a truly global phenomenon with strong denominational and regional identities.
The entries are written by a team of over 350 scholars and teachers from over 24 countries. Together they present a wealth of current research in a clear, concise, and attractive format. The Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization is an essential reference for students, researchers, academics, and practitioners."
Call Number: Ref. BR95 .E46 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino"2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference) 2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable Mention The Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology. This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, "
Call Number: Ref. BR66.5 .D5813 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church (3rd. ed. rev.) by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingstone"The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church is the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. It contains over 6,000 cross-referenced A-Z entries, and offers unrivalled coverage of all aspects of this vast and often complex subject, including theology, churches and denominations, patristic scholarship, the bible, the church calendar and its organization, popes, archbishops, saints, and mystics."
Call Number: Ref. BR95 .O8 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The encyclopedia of Christianity (5 vols.) by Erwin Fahlbusch et al."Written by leading scholars from many countries and cultural backgrounds, the more than 1,700 articles in the complete EC depict Christianity in its global context. Separate articles for every continent and for over 170 countries examine both the history and the current situation of the Christian faith worldwide. The EC also portrays Christianity in its widest ecumenical context. Major articles detail Christianity’s rich spiritual and theological diversity in order to inform readers about religious traditions and perspectives beyond their own ecclesiastical frameworks."
Call Number: Ref. BR95 .E8913 1999
Publication Date: 1999-2008
The Oxford companion to Christian thought by Adrian Hastings, Alistair Mason and Hugh Pyper"Here is a comprehensive and authoritative (though not dogmatic) overview of the full spectrum of Christian thinking. Within its 600 alphabetically arranged entries, readers will find lengthy survey articles on the history of Christian thought, on national and regional traditions, and on various denominations, from Anglican to Unitarian. There is ample coverage of Eastern thought as well, examining the Christian tradition in China, Japan, India, and Africa."
New Catholic encyclopedia by Catholic University of America"This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church."
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .N44 2002 (15 vols)
Publication Date: 2002
Encyclopedia of early Christianity (2nd ed.) by Everett Ferguson"This single-volume encyclopedia contains 977 articles by 135 qualified scholars of various academic and ecumenical backgrounds, with coverage extending from New Testament times to approximately 600 A.D. Entries cover persons, places, doctrines, and practices and include some articles on modern scholars important to the study of early Christianity. The entries vary in length, but each begins with a brief definition, or identification, followed by chronological or topical development."
Call Number: Ref. BR162.2 .E53 1997
Publication Date: 1997
Encyclopedia of the early church (2 vols) by Angelo Di Berardino"Tracing the growth of the church from its tiny beginnings in an upper room to its dominance of Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa in the eighth century, scholars from many disciplines produced articles ranging from a few sentences to ten thousand words on all the major and most of the minor people, works, ideas, and issues of the formative period of Christianity."
Call Number: Ref. BR66.5 .D5813 1992
Publication Date: 1992
The Cambridge dictionary of Christianity by Daniel Patte"Key Features of The Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity: *Offers a presentation of the Christian beliefs and practices of all major Christian traditions in each continents and each nation *Highlights the different understandings of Christian beliefs and practices in different historical, cultural, religious, denominational, and secular contexts."
Call Number: Ref. BR95 .C24 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork."The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major new reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from circa 500 CE to circa 1500 CE.....Over 800 scholars, guided by a five-member international advisory board and an international editorial board of twenty-six, have written the over 5,000 entries that make up this extraordinary four-volume set. These entries have been lavishly supplemented by more than 500 illustrations and 40 maps."
Call Number: Ref. D114 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The new Westminster dictionary of church history by Robert Benedetto"Jerald Bauer's Westminster Dictionary of Church History was originally published in 1969 and has ably served an entire generation of pastors, students, and scholars over the last decades of the twentieth century. In recognition of both the dictionary's age and the latest developments in patristics and other fields of study, Westminster John Knox Press commissioned this volume to continue in the previous work's tradition by providing up-to-date and immediate, authoritative, and introductory definitions and explanations of the major personalities, events, facts, and movements in the history of Christianity."
Call Number: Ref. BR95 .W496 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole."
The new international dictionary of Pentecostal and charismatic movements (rev. & exp.) by Stanley M. Burgess" Exhaustive coverage of Pentecostal and charismatic movements in 60 countries and regions--individual histories, cultural and theological aspects, and key figures and institutions. Statistical section with a wealth of current information on the growth of classical Pentecostalism as well as charismatic and neocharismatic movements. 1,000 articles. Over 500 photos and illustrations, maps, and timeline. Cross references, bibliographies, and indexes to people, places."
Historical dictionary of Lutheranism (2nd ed.) by Günther Gassmann"This historical dictionary examines the development of Lutheranism from its inception in the 16th century to its place as one of the largest and most influential Protestant churches in the modern world. It covers the basic theological convictions of the Lutheran tradition and their interpretation through the centuries; eminent Lutherans from the sixteenth through the twentieth centuries; the broad social and cultural impact of Lutheranism; Lutheran participation in the great religious and intellectual movements of the last four centuries; and portrayals of the members of the world-wide family of Lutheran churches."
Call Number: Ref. BX8007 .G37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Historical dictionary of the Baptists by William H. Brackney"With 110 million members worldwide, Baptists are surpassed only by Roman Catholic and Orthodox groups as the largest segment of Christians. The term "Baptist" has its origins with the Anabaptists, the denomination historically linked to the English Separatist movement of the 16th century. Although Baptist churches are located throughout the world, the largest group of Baptists lives in the Southern United States, and the Baptist faith has historically exerted a powerful influence in that region of the country.
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Baptists expands upon the first edition with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on important events, doctrines, and the church founders, leaders, and other prominent figures who have made notable contributions. This volume commemorates the 400th anniversary of the founding of the Baptist movement in 1609.
Historical dictionary of Calvinism by Stuart D.B. Picken"The Historical Dictionary of Calvinism relates the history of its founder John Calvin, the Reformed Church, and the impact that Calvinism has had in the modern world along with an account of modern and contemporary developments within the religious, political, and social culture it has created. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on concepts, significant figures, places, activities, and periods."
Call Number: Ref. BX9406 .P53 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Historical dictionary of Jehovah's Witnesses. by George D. Chryssides"The theme of prophecy, the doctrine of the 144,000, end-time calculations, Armageddon, and the Witnesses' denial of hell are all considered in the Historical Dictionary of Jehovah's Witnesses, which contains a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and 250 cross-referenced dictionary entries relating to key people and concepts."
The A to Z of Catholicism by William J. Collinge"This book is a fine summary of the beliefs, rites, events, movements, memorable popes, saints, and other key persons in Catholic history. A lively introduction summarizes Church history from the time of Christ, through the various schismatic movements, to present- day Catholicism in the U.S. The A to Z entries also focus on theology and doctrine, providing balanced coverage of controversies. An excellent student resource, user-friendly, and the ideal starting place for research assignments."
A dictionary of Asian Christianity by Scott Sunquist"Describing Christianity as it exists in the region from Pakistan to Japan and from Mongolia to Indonesia, this volume's 1,260 signed articles include biographies of important Asian church leaders as well as reliable, up-to-date information on the political, cultural, and religious movements that have shaped the Christian faith in this part of the world. Maps, cross-references, and bibliographies enhance the dictionary's usefulness for teachers, students, and general readers interested in global Christianity."
Call Number: Ref. BR1065 .D52 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of African American religions by Larry Murphy, J. Gordon Melton, and Gary L. Ward"Preceded by three introductory essays and a chronology of major events in black religious history from 1618 to 1991, this A-Z encyclopedia includes three types of entries:
* Biographical sketches of 773 African American religious leaders
* 341 entries on African American denominations and religious organizations (including white churches with significant black memberships and educational institutions)
* Topical articles on important aspects of African American religious life (e.g., African American Christians during the Colonial Era, Music in the African American Church)"
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas (6 vols.) by Colin A. Palmer"This second edition is an expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference."
Call Number: Ref. E185 .E54 2006
Publication Date: 2006
African American religious cultures (2 vols.) by Anthony B. Pinn"This encyclopedia offers the most comprehensive presentation available on the diversity and richness of religious practices among African Americans, from traditions predating the era of the transatlantic slave trade to contemporary religious movements.
• Over 80 alphabetically organized entries on religious traditions embraced by African Americans, covering their historical development, doctrines, rituals, and key figures
• Over 50 contributors, each a distinguished scholar familiar with the richness of African American religious life
Call Number: Ref. BL2500 .A37 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture (5 vols) by Barbara A. Tenenbaum"This 5-vol. set spans the centuries from the earliest civilizations of the Olmec, Maya, and Chavin to the present day. The region is broadly defined to include South America, Central America, Mexico, the Caribbean Sea, and the historical Spanish borderlands north of the Rio Grande that are now part of the United States. The set emphasizes political, economic, and social history, yet does not overlook those elements of material and popular culture that have affected the history of Latin America."
Call Number: Ref. F1406 .E53 1996
Publication Date: 1996
Arts, Atlases and Statistics
The dictionary of art / by Jane Turner"A resource for both art and cultural studies, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts. The Dictionary ranges far both geographically and historically; it features unparalleled coverage of Africa, Southeast Asia, Central Asia and Mongolia, China, India, the Islamic world, Japan, Korea, Native North America, Pacific and Aboriginal Australia, Pre-Columbian America, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Ancient Near East, and Ancient Rome. "
Atlas of global Christianity, 1910-2010 by Todd M. Johnson and Kenneth R. Ross"The Atlas of Global Christianity is a thorough visual reference of the changing status of global Christianity over the 100 years since the epoch-making 'Edinburgh 1910' World Missionary Conference. It is the first scholarly atlas to depict the 20th century shift of Christianity from the Global North to the Global South. Contextual information on world issues and world religions is included. The atlas is ecumenical in that it covers every Christian tradition including Anglicans, Independents, Marginals, Orthodox, Protestants, and Roman Catholics. This is the first atlas to incorporate historical essays on Christianity 1910-2010 by scholars from each region of the world. Included is a CD that contains all maps and graphs ready for classroom use."