A peer-reviewed academic journal covering the field of Pagan Studies including historical, sociological, and anthropological studies dealing with contemporary paganism and other forms of pagan religion.
Nova Religio presents scholarly interpretations and examinations of emergent and alternative religious movements. Original research, perspectives on the study of new religions, literature reviews, and conference updates keep scholars well informed on a wide range of topics including: new religions; new movements within established religious traditions; neo-indigenous, neo-polytheistic and revival movements; ancient wisdom and New Age groups; diasporic religious movements; and marginalized and stigmatized religions.
Folklore is one of the earliest journals in the field of folkloristics, first published as The Folk-Lore Record in 1878.
Folklore publishes ethnographical and analytical essays on vernacular culture worldwide, specializing in traditional narrative, language, music, song, dance, drama, foodways, medicine, arts and crafts, popular religion, and belief. It reviews current studies in a wide range of adjacent disciplines including anthropology, cultural studies, ethnology, history, literature, and religion.
Folklore prides itself on its special mix of reviews, analysis, ethnography, and debate; its combination of European and North American approaches to the study of folklore; and its coverage not only of the materials and processes of folklore, but also of the history, methods, and theory of folkloristics.
The subject of religious freedom is important to all American citizens, regardless of religious affiliation or ethnicity. Are the rights of religious individuals being eroded, or is religion being unfairly used to deny basic secular rights to individuals? How will religious institutions adapt to changes in legislation that have an impact on how they operate? Does the Supreme Court have the right to enforce these changes? Finally, how can the precarious separation of church and state be maintained while simultaneously respecting both institutions? This single-volume work provides an introduction that addresses the historical background of religious freedom in America, accurately explains the latest legal developments in religious freedom in the United States, and presents an unbiased account of the probable impact of the new Freedom of Religion laws in the continuing culture war. Readers will gain insight into key controversies such as prayer in public schools, creationism versus evolution, abortion, religious objections to medical care, religious displays in public places, same-sex marriage and LGBT rights, and state and federal religious freedom acts. The book also includes perspective essays by outside contributors, a selection of useful primary documents, a listing of print and nonprint resources, a chronology, and a glossary of terms This book provides the answers to controversial questions about religious liberties in the United States and connected issues through balanced, thorough, and nonjudgmental coverage of the issues
James R. Lewis’ and Murphy Pizza’s new collection offers readers the most comprehensive overview of the historical sources and contemporary features of the broad Neopagan movement that has yet been published, and is a welcome addition to the numerous monographs published on Neopaganism over the past two decades. The editors have gathered an impressive line-up of scholars with wide-ranging perspectives on the international scope of the movement, its deepening sense of its own history, its internal struggles and tensions, and its obvious strength in terms of numbers and established communities. - Sarah M. Pike (California State University, Chico) in: Nova Religio, Vol. 14, 2010.
This volume brings together thirteen studies by as many experts in the study of one or more ancient or medieval magical traditions, from ancient Mesopotamia and Pharaonic and Greco-Roman Egypt to the Greek world, Judaism, Christianity and Islam. It lays special emphasis on the recurrence of similar phenomena in magical texts as far apart as the Akkadian cuneiform tablets and an Arabic manuscript bought in Egypt in the late-twentieth century. Such similarities demonstrate to what extent many different cultures share a "magical logic" which is strikingly identical, and in particular they show the recurrence of certain phenomena when magical practices are transmitted in written form and often preserve, adopt and adapt much older textual units
Most studies of Graeco-Roman magic focus on the Greek texts. Stimulated by important recent finds of Latin curse-tablets, this collection of essays for the first time tries to define the nature and extent of the originality of magical practice in the Latin West
Alternative religions attract great public, academic and government interest in our apparently post-Christian society. Yet how did all the'alternatives'develop, what are their beliefs and practices and how significant is their impact in terms of the world's religions and society? This book presents a comprehensive introduction to the major forms of alternative religions: Cults, Sects, New Religious Movements, the New Age, Fundamentalism, Pentecostalism, Ethnic Religions and Quasi-religions. Stephen Hunt presents sociological insights into the rise of alternative religions, their beliefs and practices, their impact, who joins them, and how they are being classified and could be re-classified in the future. Public and legal controversies surrounding some alternative religions, such as the so-called'dangerous cults', are also explored. This book offers students insights into contemporary themes such as secularisation, post-modernity, links between religion, healing and and changes in our global culture.
It has been observed that the traditions, philosophies and beliefs that enjoy historical longevity are not those that remain static and unchanging, but rather those that evolve and adapt to meet the needs of different or changing societies. And that truth, of course, can be extended to religions and spiritualities that by necessity must remain relevant to peoples'lives or become intellectual museum pieces. With topics ranging from CyberWitches to Activism, from Web Weaving to Urban Witchcraft, from the Arts to Kitchen and Solitary Witchcraft and more, What is Modern Witchcraft? considers contemporary developments in the ancient craft and discusses a number of questions and issues that are frequently raised today. What is Modern Witchcraft? is edited by Trevor Greenfield and features essays from Morgan Daimler, Annette George, Irisanya Moon, Rebecca Beattie, Philipp J. Kessler, Amie Ravenson, Rachel Patterson, Mélusine Draco, Dorothy Abrams, Arietta Bryant and Mabh Savage.
An anthropological study introducing key concepts and trends in modern neo-pagan religious movements. Primarily exploring Wicca and other current incarnations of witchcraft. This book explores wiccan rituals, symbolism, and concepts with an emphasis especially on gender and sexuality. Key concepts central to Wicca are included such as: The Great Rite, Principles of Wiccan Belief, and The Charge of the Goddess.
The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States. We conduct research with the help of students, in collaboration with others in our field, and in partnership with religious communities and interfaith organizations.
Solitary Pagans is the first book to explore the growing phenomenon of contemporary Pagans who practice alone. Although the majority of Pagans in the United States have abandoned the tradition of practicing in groups, little is known about these individuals or their way of practice. Helen A. Berger fills that gap by building on a massive survey of contemporary practitioners. By examining the data, Berger describes solitary practitioners demographically and explores their spiritual practices, level of social engagement, and political activities. Contrasting the solitary Pagans with those who practice in groups and more generally with other non-Pagan Americans, she also compares contemporary U.S. Pagans with those in the United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Berger brings to light the new face of contemporary paganism by analyzing those who learn about the religion from books or the Internet and conduct rituals alone in their gardens, the woods, or their homes. Some observers believe this social isolation and political withdrawal has resulted in an increase in narcissism and a decline in morality, while others argue to the contrary that it has produced a new form of social integration and political activity. Berger posits the implications of her findings to reveal a better understanding of other metaphysical religions and those who shun traditional religious organizations.
Women in New Religions offers an engaging look at women's evolving place in the birth and development of new religious movements. It focuses on four disparate new religions-Mormonism, Seventh-day Adventism, The Family International, and Wicca-to illuminate their implications for gender socialization, religious leadership and participation, sexuality, and family ideals. Religious worldviews and gender roles interact with one another in complicated ways. This is especially true within new religions, which frequently set roles for women in ways that help the movements to define their boundaries in relation to the wider society. As new religious movements emerge, they often position themselves in opposition to dominant society and concomitantly assert alternative roles for women. But these religions are not monolithic: rather than defining gender in rigid and repressive terms, new religions sometimes offer possibilities to women that are not otherwise available. Vance traces expectations for women as the religions emerge, and transformation of possibilities and responsibilities for women as they mature. Weaving theory with examination of each movement's origins, history, and beliefs and practices, this text contextualizes and situates ideals for women in new religions. The book offers an accessible analysis of the complex factors that influence gender ideology and its evolution in new religious movements, including the movements' origins, charismatic leadership and routinization, theology and doctrine, and socio-historical contexts. It shows how religions shape definitions of women's place in a way that is informed by response to social context, group boundaries, and identity.
"In this book, historians of religion and gender studies explore the biographies of a number of female leaders, and the factors within their groups and cultural contexts that support these women's religious leadership. New Religious Movements have been supportive of women taking roles of leadership for a long time. Authors of this book examine issues of gender and female leadership from diverse theoretical and methodological standpoints. The book covers a broad range of groups both with regard to time and place, covering Paganism, Hindu guru groups, Christian organizations, esoteric/ mystical movements, African churches, and a Japanese NRM. The common focal point is the powerful, prophetic, charismatic women who have founded and/ or led New Religious Movements."--Provided by publisher
The article examines Cate Tiernan’s ‘Wicca’ series. This series and the ‘Circle of
Three’ books by Isobel Bird explore the experiences of teenage girls who embrace the pagan
religion, Wicca. The texts reflect the growing interest in spirituality expressed by many young
people and extend the literary representation of witchcraft. Tiernan produces stories of spiritual
growth entwined with fantasy and romance. The series operates within a moral and religious
framework that allows girls to feel positive about their bodies and their sexuality and
acknowledges the complex moral decisions many young people face.
Jarvis, Christine. "Becoming a woman through Wicca: Witches and wiccans in contemporary teen fiction." Children's Literature in Education 39, no. 1 (2008): 43-52.
Flying women are a common motif in the world's myths and religions. Not necessarily winged, these women elicit reactions of fear, fascination, and ambivalence, and in so doing reveal much about the perceptions of female power and sexuality through the ages. The first book to systematically chronicle the figure of the flying woman in myth, literature, and art, Women Who Fly sheds new light on the ways in which women have both influenced and been understood by society and religious traditions around the world
Here you can explore links to several hundred pages of information about the Witch, Wiccan and Pagan lifestyles. Learn about Pagan holidays, the Goddess and God, moon phases, animal guides, candle magic, herbalism, Earth magic and more.
World Religion News covers the world of religion in ways that will surprise, challenge, enlighten, entertain and engage you within a framework wired for a connected world. Link points to the Wicca portion of their site, which covers news, culture and ethics of Wicca.