LibGuides: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Specific Topics

Contact Us!

Graduate Theological Union Librarians

Email Me

Contact:

2400 Ridge Road
Berkeley, CA 94709
library@gtu.edu

Music

LDS Hymns Bibliography
A list of resources maintained by Weber State University related to the history of Mormon hymns.

Humanities

Some key cross-disciplinary resources in the humanities related to Mormonism. These are recommended starting points before moving on to the subject-specific sections below.

Mormon Literature and Creative Arts Database Resource to works by and about Mormons, including current, historical, and bibliographic information about authors and works.
Studies in Mormon History Includes citations to articles, books, theses, and Ph.D. dissertations dealing with the history of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, written from 1830 to the present. Includes some full-text links and hundreds of citations on Mormon humanists and their works.
Encyclopedia of Mormonism Online The Wiki Version of Macmillan’s 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Use this for backgound information and bibliographies on topics, events, and people in Mormonism. Contains additions and updates by BYU Studies.
Mormon Artist Mormon Artist is an online magazine (2008-present) covering the Latter-day Saint arts world and the intersection between art and faith. Includes interviews with Mormons who create visual art, literature, film, theatre, dance, and music.

Literature & Folklore

Mormon Speculative Fiction Database Independent website devoted to documenting published speculative fiction by LDS authors, including novels, short stories, poetry, theses/dissertations, articles, and interviews.
Mormon Missionary Literature Bibliography An online list of novels, short stories, comics, film, and plays related to Mormon missiology.

General Social Sciences

Some key cross-disciplinary resources in the social sciences related to Mormonism. These are recommended starting points before moving on to the subject-specific sections below. Search using "mormon OR lds" and your subtopic to retrieve the most results.

Sociology of Religion Bibliography Online Sponsored by Hartford Seminary’s Hartford Institute for Religion Research with a commitment to providing quality social scientific religion research information that is helpful for religious leaders and the general public. 300+ citations on Mormonism.
LDS.org Gospel Topics Official discussions on a variety of topics and contemporary issues related to the LDS Church.
Mormon Social Science Bibliography A 2007 list of resources about social issues and Mormonism.

Statistics

United States Census
Current Church Statistics Contains basic world-wide Church statistics about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Association of Religion Data Archives The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. Contains 2000 census data on Mormonism and other studies conducted on American religion.
Global Mormonism Project Based out of Religious Education at Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, this site offers access to information on Mormonism in every region and country of the world, as well as topics of international scope.