Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide was originally developed by Brigham Young University Libraries by Gerrit van Dyk, the Mormon History and Doctrine Librarian. Thank you to the BYU Library for much of the content and resources found within this guide.
This is not a comprehensive list, for all items, please see our catalog. These are some highlights from the stacks.
These are the most regularly used resources on the LDS Studies Research Guide.
Studies in Mormon History
This database includes citations to articles, books, theses, and Ph.D. dissertations dealing with the history of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, written from the time of its inception in 1830 to the present.
Encyclopedia of Mormonism Online
The Wiki Version of Macmillan’s 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Use this for backgound information and bibliographies on topics, events, and people in Mormonism. Contains additions and updates by BYU Studies.
Use these resources to find biographical information about an individual from Church history.
LDS Biographical Encyclopedia
Collected around 1900, the biographies detail the lives of many LDS men and women in four volumes.
History of Utah: Biographical Volume
Contains numerous biographical sketches of 19th century LDS leaders.
Pioneers and Prominent Men of Utah
The author has collected nearly six thousand photographs of Utah pioneers (before 1869) and other prominent early members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. In a separate section are included brief biographical and genealogical sketches of these men and many more from the same era.
Joseph Smith Papers Online: People
Brief biographical sketches for selected persons mentioned in Joseph Smith’s papers. Names listed in this directory include church leaders and members, Smith family members, people Joseph Smith encountered in his travels, parties involved in legal and business matters, and other acquaintances.
List of Latter-day Saints
Wikipedia article listing Latter Day Saints who have attained at least some level of fame and/or success in a variety of professions. This list includes adherents of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (LDS or Mormon), as well as adherents of related denominations (as labeled).
Speeches and Quotes
Use these resources to find quotes from Church members and authorities on topics or scriptural passages.
BYU Speeches from 1949 to the present. Includes transcripts, audio, and video.
Journal of Discourses Online
Sermons of the LDS Church authorities from 1853 to 1886. It was published in Liverpool, England. Select "Advanced Search" in order to search by keyword across the speeches.
Conference Reports (1899-1970)
Since 1899, the Church has published official reports of its annual (April) and semiannual (October) General Conferences, commonly called Conference Reports. These reports are distributed in booklet form only to Church leaders (bishoprics and higher), Church employees, and libraries.
Conference Talks at LDS.org
Text of conference talks going back to 1974. Can be browsed by session, speaker, or topic. Talks can also be searched by keyword.
Corpus of LDS General Conference Talks, 1851-2010
“This website allows you to quickly and easily search talks from General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons). This corpus (or collection of texts) contains 24 million words in 10,000 talks from 1851 to 2010.”