2400 Ridge Road
Berkeley, CA 94709
Selected Writings of Martin Luther by Martin Luther; Theodore G. Tappert (Editor)Here are Luther's most important and influential writings - from his (1517) 95 Theses to his last Prefaces to the Bible - compiled chronologically into four volumes: his early writings (1517-1520), the fruitful years of controversy (1520-1523), the years of consolidating and shaping the Reform (1523-1526), and his mature work (1529-1546).Built from the translations prepared for "Luther's Works: American Edition", this selection presents whole works in their historical setting.
Call Number: BR331.E5 T32 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The Documents of the Christian Church by Henry Bettenson (Editor); Chris Maunder (Editor)This further expanded fourth edition brings the anthology up-to-date with a new section looking at issues facing the twenty-first century churches. This includes extracts exploring the churches' responses to questions of social justice, international politics, trade and debt, environmental change, and technological development. New material also covers the global growth of Christianity, the progress of Christian unity, and mission in multi-faith and postmodern societies.
The Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand"The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is the first major reference to cover the immense subject of the Reformation in its entirety. Setting the issues of theology and ecclesiology within the broader context of the social and intellectual history of the time, it is the most authoritative reference available on early modern European society as a whole."
The Catholic Reformation by Michael A. Mullett"The Catholic Reformation provides a comprehensive history of the 'Counter Reformation in early modern Europe. Starting from the middle ages, Michael Mullett clearly traces the continuous transformation of the Catholic religion in its structures, bodies and doctrine. He discusses the gain in momentum of Catholic renewal from the time of the Council of Trent, and considers the profound effect of the Protestant Reformation in accelerating its renovation.
This book explores how and why the Catholic Reformation occurred, stressing that moves towards restoration were underway well before the Protestant Reformation. Michael Mullett also shows the huge impact it had not only on the papacy, Church leaders and religious ritual and practice, but also on the lives of ordinary people - their culture, arts, attitudes and relationships. "
Call Number: BR430 .M84 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Historical dictionary of Lutheranism (2nd ed.) by Günther Gassmann"This historical dictionary examines the development of Lutheranism from its inception in the 16th century to its place as one of the largest and most influential Protestant churches in the modern world. It covers the basic theological convictions of the Lutheran tradition and their interpretation through the centuries; eminent Lutherans from the sixteenth through the twentieth centuries; the broad social and cultural impact of Lutheranism; Lutheran participation in the great religious and intellectual movements of the last four centuries; and portrayals of the members of the world-wide family of Lutheran churches."
Call Number: Ref. BX8007 .G37 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Companion to Martin Luther by Donald K. McKim (Editor)This Companion provides an accessible introduction to Martin Luther for students of theology and history and everyone interested in the life, work and thought of the first great Protestant reformer. Historians and theologians present a complete picture of Luther's major writing themes and the ways in which his ideas spread and continue to be important. The Companion is oriented to those with little or no background in Luther studies, as well as teachers and specialists.
Call Number: BR325 .C26 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Luther by Heiko A. ObermanPublished in 1982 in Germany to great acclaim, the book portrays the controversial reformer in the context of his own time. Oberman argues that Luther is more the medieval monk than history has usually regarded him. Haunted by the devil, Luther saw the world, Oberman claims, as a cosmic battleground between God and Satan. It is this battle with the devil that provides the key to understanding the man.
Call Number: BR325 .O2713 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Historical dictionary of Calvinism by Stuart D.B. Picken"The Historical Dictionary of Calvinism relates the history of its founder John Calvin, the Reformed Church, and the impact that Calvinism has had in the modern world along with an account of modern and contemporary developments within the religious, political, and social culture it has created. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, an extensive bibliography, and over 300 cross-referenced dictionary entries on concepts, significant figures, places, activities, and periods."
John Calvin : a pilgrim's life by Herman J. Selderhuis and translated by Albert Gootjes."Professor and renowned Reformation historian Herman Selderhuis has written this book to bring Calvin near to the reader, showing him as a man who had an impressive impact on the development of the Western world, but who was first of all a believer struggling with God and with the way God governed both the world and his own life. Selderhuis draws on Calvin's own publications and commentary on the biblical figures with whom he strongly identified to describe his theology in the context of his personal development."
"In the years following the Act of Uniformity in 1549, musicians seemed to thrive on the challenge of the New Prayer Book, and the successive reigns of Elizabeth I, James I and Charles I bought a rich and varied repertory of vernacular church music. Peter Le Huray traces these developments in great detail, drawing on many contemporary sources to illuminate the music and its social and religious background."