Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**Getting Started with Library Research**

Learn how to use the GTU library, including finding books & articles & more.

About Open Access

Open access (OA) resources are digital, online, and free to use. They also often carry less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works, offering both users and creators a level of access to their work otherwise impossible under strict paywall models, and promoting the spread of knowledge unimpeded by the current structure of scholarly publishing. An easy way to remember what OA is: "free availability and unrestricted use."

And just because they're free, that doesn't mean OA materials are not legitimate! While open access is a newer form of scholarly publishing, many OA journals do comply with well-established peer-review processes and maintain high publishing standards.

If you're interested in learning more about the details of OA, check out Peter Suber's overview of Open Access.

Please note that some of the resources listed here are temporarily available & open thanks to corporations & institutions lifting restrictions to help those affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. In essence, these are free trials of subscription resources and can be discovered through the lists below, or by searching databases on the Electronic Resources page. JSTOR & Ebsco are two platforms that have provided temporary expanded access. 

Use Summon

If you do not have access to the GTU Library's subscription resources, you can still use a Summon search to find Open Access resources. Just use the Open Access filter after you perform your search, as shown in the screenshot below. 

Top Databases for Journals & Articles

Directory of Open Access Journals

Digital Commons Network The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

Project Muse Open Access Search In response to the current pandemic, Project MUSE has partnered with the community of not-for-profit scholarly presses providing journals and books on our platform to offer significant amounts of that content for free. More than 50 publishers have chosen to temporarily make content freely available to assist with access for the many students, faculty, and researchers now working remotely due to the global public health crisis of COVID-19. As of today, more than 15,000 books, and over 230 journal titles - comprising well over 10,000 issues and more than 185,000 articles - are available through this initiative. 

JSTOR is offering expanded access to the JSTOR databases during the pandemic (now through Dec. 2020). If you do NOT have a GTU library card, please use this link to find out more about this expanded access. Please note (as with most of the COVID-19 expanded access to resources listed on this page) that these extra results will not appear in a Summon search. To find out more, read the JSTOR update.

PubMed Central PubMed Central is a full-text, open access database (to be distinguished from PubMed which is a citation database) administered by the National Library of Medicine. Depending on publishers' policies, authors can submit published articles for inclusion and are required to do so in the case of NIH-funded research.

UC Press Journals "In recognition of the impact of coronavirus on campus instruction and the rise of unplanned distance learning, University of California Press is pleased to make all of our online journals content free to all through June 2020."

Elsevier's OA Journals Elsevier publishes many journals and scholarly works in various disciplines. This site provides a list of this publisher's open access journals.

SpringerOpen Journals SpringerOpen journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication. They are subject to high-level peer review, author and production services ensuring quality and reliability of the work. Authors publishing with SpringerOpen retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under a Creative Commons license.

Public Library of Science PLoS publishes several well-established open access, peer-reviewed journals covering an array of disciplines in the sciences including PLOS Biology, PLOS One, and PLOS Pathogens. 

Top Electronic Book Collections

Directory of Open Access Books

HathiTrust Digital Library  Contains open-access book-length items. A catalog search, limited to Full View Only, brings up not only full-text materials, but also a set of conditions by which you can limit your search (e.g. subject heading, date range, author, language). It also aggregates full-text materials from various sources and displays bibliographical information that may be more useful than Google Books.

Globethics.net Library The Globethics.net Library is a free, open online library aimed at providing quality resources on applied ethics, education and religious studies from all over the world. Content in the library is available in multiple languages and is harvested from more than 3,000 open access repositories. Free registration required.

UC Press Ebooks Collection (1982-2004) Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

University of Pennsylvania Press Temporary free access to 6400+ publications, mostly ebooks. 

‚ÄčOhio State University Press Ebooks Temporary free access to 699 books. Collection is strong in literary criticism and general humanities topics. 

Project Gutenberg Provides free access to more than 60,000 (primarily older public domain) books which can be downloaded in a variety of formats including ePub, Kindle, HTML and plain text.

Other

Internet Archive A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. The site includes the Wayback Machine, a digital archive of the World Wide Web. For more information on how to download books from the Internet Archive, see their helpful guide & FAQ.

OASIS A large user friendly OER search engine that allows for users to search by subject or by course material type (e.g. textbooks, simulations, audio).

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources.  Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built.  Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.

Google Advanced Search allows searching by Usage Rights. To find open access materials use filters, "free to use or share," "free to use or share even commercially," "free to use, share, or modify,"  and "free to use, share, or modify, even commercially."

Brave New Films Brave New Educators creates powerful videos and documentaries for educators to start a dialogue with students at colleges and high schools across the country. All of these social-justice-focused resources are completely free. A thoughtfully crafted discussion guide accompanies each film. Topics include justice, security, inequality, and gun violence.

Numeridanse A multimedia dance platform. It offers free access to a unique video base: filmed performances, documentaries, interviews, fictions, dance videos. Every single genre, style and form is showcased here.

Documentary Educational Resources DER is offering unlimited streaming access to a curated selection of free films. How to access it: Enter promo code WFH2020 to watch for free.